In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Young generations should consider an option of travel or work for one year between accomplishing grade 9 and 10 and initiating university levels in more and more nations. This essay will explore the pros and cons of having a break for one year before starting higher education. There are some benefits of taking a gap year for students. Firstly, this will allow them to have more times to have mind to be refreshed. In other words, they could go to the park to do some readings or revise several lesson materials. Secondly, because several students have a holiday, they could spend more time with their friends or relatives by travelling to other countries or local destinations.. When spending time with these people, they may ask some learning advice from them who have an experience in achieving good results of postgraduate or undergraduate degree. As a result, this may assist them to get an idea on how they can accomplish bachelor or master with a high result. Lastly, this could give an opportunity to do part time jobs like being a barista or restaurant employees and this could result in having work experience. In my own opinion, when I went to Australia last year, I saw the majority of students want to earn their own money by being a staff for the coffee shop. However, taking too much break before embarking on a new journey of education could provide several disadvantages. First of all, some young ages may stay at home and do not want to go out in order to develop their active lifestyle. For example, in Australia, many teenagers feel lazy and just want to stay at home so that they could sleep or watch television. In addition, when it comes to a long break from study, they might prefer to hang out with their friends and do shopping on luxurious over going to different countries for exploring or doing a part- time job. From my experience, many American young people are fascinated in consuming their time on going out with their close friends only in their local regions. In conclusion, while doing some work or travel could be disadvantageous for some youth, having these activities are still advantageous for daily basis.