Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

People throughout the world are dramatically willing to own a private car in recent decades which caused many mega cities experience heavy traffic daily. I believe this issue which is unwelcomed is happening so, steps should be taken by governments to control before it becomes chaos. Traffic all around the world is undeniable if we look thoroughly to cosmopolitan cities where you have to wait hours to reach your destination. As we see in mega cities such as Beijing, Tehran and Mexico city we obviously observe the difficulties city dwellers are facing with. for instance, I live in Tehran and when I want to commute to my workplace I have to use GPS to check which route is faster, as it is well known that single occupancy of cars causes this problem. But it raises the question why? Mainly because infrastructures are insufficient in this regard. Public transport is critical and more of subway, fast buses are needed, let alone modification in street designing also seems essential. What can be done? There are some ways to resolve this problem in affected countries. Firstly, they need to organize the cars on streets, like no single occupancy to be allowed unless it is an emergency. Secondly they need to improve the transportation industry regarding to public transport means and it's infrastructures as we know the more public transport are available, the easier it will be for people to be transferred. Therefore, cities will be calm and people will not purchase new car for this matter. Finally, there should a cultural training by media to illustrate the potential problems while using individual's car. Ultimately, although it's a burden on governments, it should be solved by any means in order not to exacerbate the condition. In conclusion, we can infer that traffic problem are going to be ubiquitous in all over the world among big cities and even international consensus and cooperation is needed among countries to overcome this situation which is absolutely difficult and I hope that this problem be figured out as soon as possible.