In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this era, humans are living more than ever they could duo to many factors such as health-care progress. Some individuals believe that ageing population can cause some problems for the country; while other consider if the society has more old people, it will be beneficial. In my opinion, if the amount of the elderly people, overtakes the young people, it might have some advantages; however, this case has some drawbacks as well. It is commonly believed that elderly individuals would have more experiences which was gotten in their life. In addition, they have lived longer, plus, they have seen many things during their life. Hence, old folks can think better and manage better when it comes to government’s stuff. For instance, it is absolutely clear that nowadays in most countries, presidents and government men and women are elected from those candidates which are older and have more experiences. Nevertheless, elderly people are old and unable to do many things specially when it comes to physical activities and delicate jobs such as riding subway trains for 24 hours straight or work in a coffee shop where they have to be in a rush all the time. Additionally, in today’s world computer programming which needs a delicate vision through the computer with tiny letters is one of the most crucial jobs, therefore, it is hard for old individuals to do this kind of job. To sum up, although elderly people can help us in many countries’ activities such as crucial governments’ jobs, they might not be able to do some other important activities as well; hence, we can give these responsibilities to younger individuals.