Some governments say how many children a family can have in their country.They may control the number of children someone has through taxes. It is sometimes necessary and right for a government to control the population in this way.Do you agree or disagree?

It is deemed compulsory by certain governments in the world to control how many offspring a family can have, this rule is primarily implemented through taxation. I disagree with this sentiment despite it being a necessity for certain governments in the world, rather I would argue it is a path to impose their control over the population and introduce inequality of outcome through differential taxation. The road to hell is paved with good intentions, although an authoritarian figure dictating family planning might seem like a solution to over-population, On further inspection it is a way for governments to strip away the rights and freedoms of their citizens. For instance, in the People's Republic of China, the government instituted One child policy to deal with the country's over population, rather it became a tool to control parents who broke the law by having more children and corrupt bureaucrats harassed citizens who had more than one child extorting them for money. Lastly, a basic human right enshrined to all citizens of this world is ability to be treated equally, irrespective of race, religion or caste. Furthermore, treating families unequally based on the number of offspring more often than not affects lowest economic class in a society. For example, in 1980s India, the Rajiv Gandhi government took drastic measures to reduce their population by forcefully sterilizing women and men these steps affected people of backward caste and poor people, more than it affected the rich people. In conclusion, legislature drafting laws which affect family’s ability to produce offspring is immoral, instead, it is a pathway for governments to treat citizens unequally and control each and every aspect of their life.