Tourism is a modern form of colonialism. It distorts local economies, causes environmental damage, ruins the places it exploits. To what extent do you agree?

The concept of modern tourism closely mirrors practices of colonialism, particularly in how often it exploits and ruins the host community. I firmly agree with this notion, tourism degrades local economies through the creation of a monoculture solely based on tourism, which can undermine traditional livelihoods, and, also induces a heavy strain on natural resources, pollution, and damage to the fragile ecosystems caused by influx of tourists. Tourism has plenty of economic benefits, but due to the commodification of people, land and other productive assets, the country's industries are underinvested into causing tourism the sole service sector to provide indigenous people with well-paying jobs. For example, in Greece, after the financial market crash of 2008, Greece’s manufacturing industries and ship building industries had to close down, due to which many people previously employed with those industries had to find jobs elsewhere, the tourism sector opened its doors and provided them with employment. In present day Greece, those productive industries are nowhere to be found and millions of people continue to work in the fluctuating tourism industry. Secondly, environmental degradation is also a massive concern, whilst visitors flock to sight seeing spots present in various countries, human interaction undermines the untouched and fragile ecosystems present in those areas. For Instance, in 1680s America, when the Native Americans held majority of prairie, their main source of food was Bison, seeing this, American settlers paid bounties and tried to completely exterminate the population of Bison, the major food source of the natives, so that they would starve to death. Whilst, this being a drastic example of human interaction, it is nonetheless a poignant one to explain how visitors may influence and ruin the people living in the host country. In conclusion, tourism often involves cultural overshadowing of the host communities along with the degradation of the environment, in part due to the visitor's actions.