The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an argumentative perspective heating a debate over the notion that numerous individuals in society are using social media in place of in-person interactions. In my opinion, the demerits may overshadow the merits. Without a shadow of a doubt, there is a myriad of advantages of utilizing social media. The explanation for this could be that social plaforms can help education and working not be interrupted. For example, Covid-19 was the cause of the quarantine period when nobody was allowed to have direct interaction with others. This was also the time in which everyone would accomplish tasks through Zoom or Skype so that they can communicate and exchange information with each other. Moreover, social media can help individuals connect and interact with others without spending any money or time on travelling. For example, friends or relatives who are at distant geographical places can have conversations or dialogues through Facebook or Instagram. Meanwhile, there is a steady steam of disadvantages of social media. Using social media and not having face-to-face interaction can easily create conflicts and degradation of relationship quality. When everyone use written text, although they can still convey the message, the messages can not express the senders’ feelings and tones of voice. This could easily cause the recipients to understand imprecisely from the original purpose of the senders, which can only be solved through direct conversations or dialogues. In conclusion, I would contend that the use of of social media can do harm to face-to-face interaction and the advantages of social media may not overshadow its counterpart.