In some countries it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow vegetarian diets. Do the advantages of this outweighs the disadvantages.

There is a widespread trend of people who become a vegetarian in several countries. This essay will explain why I think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Consuming more vegetarian diets will lead to high fiber consumption, it will not be as healthy as consuming balanced diets and vegetarian cuisines are relatively expensive as well. Communities who are vegetarian consume high amounts of vegetables, beans, and fruits; therefore, they will eat more fiber which is beneficial for their digestive system. It happens because they strictly do not eat animal products except for eggs and milk. To replace protein that substantially is sourced from animal ingredients, vegetarians will opt for protein in vegetables, beans, and fruits such as broccoli, tempeh, and bananas. Generally, non-animal products have a high fiber that supports the human's digestion system well-being; hence, it benefits the overall vegetarian's health. However, despite the high fiber consumption, vegetarian diets are not as healthy as balanced diets and are relatively expensive. To begin with, balanced diets consist of meat, either it is white or red meat, that is not consumed by a vegetarian. The missing meat intake will cause humans to become low in iron thus causing dizziness and low blood pressure. Furthermore, the vegetarian diet's price is relatively high primarily because it is not widely available in terms of the ingredients and chefs who can serve the food. In Indonesia, for example, vegetarian food costs three times higher compared to non-vegetarian food due to its supply exclusivity. Thus, given the fact that the drawbacks of unhealthiness and expensiveness, consuming vegetarian food's disadvantages outweigh the advantages. In conclusion, in response to the appetite shift of various communities who become vegetarian, I think the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. High fiber intake alone does not justify the downside of unhealthiness and expensiveness compared to balanced diets.