Young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. To want extent do you agree or disagree?

As society advances, the question of whether criminal charges against a teen should carry the same penalty as that of an adult has sparked a considerable debate. While many advocate for it, others contend that because they are still kids under the guidance of their parents without any responsibilities and that their immature minds are too young to understand the gravity of such a crime. Examinng these facts will give a comprehensive understanding of this subject matter. To begin with, Children are still under guidance and have no societal obligation. For instance, in Nigeria most of the teens arrested for cultism thought it was a social group they could dress up in uniforms to catch fun, but at the end of the day, they just wanted to go home to their parents. Clearly, they would not have joined those cult groups if they were adults because they would know it is not a social club. Therefore, it is clear a child can not intentionally commit a crime while an adult would do otherwise. In addition, their maturity is low so can not grasp the consequences of their actions. For example, in Enugu state, jail time is the penalty for an accident with a fatality, teens are mostly involved in this type of accident because they are ignorant, moreover, no one will want to spend time behind bars intentionally. Obviously, they would not want jail time history if they were adults and completely understood the consequences of such a offence. Thus, we can see that teenagers will not carelessly cause a fatal accident if they understand the outcome. In conclusion, the fact that a teenager's lawlessness should carry the same sentence as that of an adult is an idea that has been disagreed on by many individuals. Since they are still immature so are not completely aware of the gravity of such actions and most children are still under the care of their parents with no social responsibilities. Consequently, it is obvious that a child's offence should not carry the same punishment as that of a mature person.