Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

In the modern society, adolescents could be maleable to the personality of those in their same age gap. While many people remark the importance of peer pressure, others may point out the downsides of this situation. In this essay, I will explain in detail why peer pressure could represent several disadvantages for people of young ages. To begin with, peer pressure could unleash reprobable reprobate behaviours in young folks, who try to adequate themselves into social standards or manners held by their social circles. Reprobable manners and hazardous conducts such as using drugs or entering the realm of crime, are just a few outcomes led by peer pressure of certain social groups. A recent study conducted by VOX surveyed several high schools across the UK due to the sudden surge of the vaping practice. This study concluded that at least one of three students were vaping in order to be recognized and included in social activities or gatherings among their classmates. Moreover, the peer pressure exert by friend groups over certain people usually leads to a loss of individuality, as well as the capacity to stay true to themselves. Having a strong sense of self lays the framework for successfull makers of the future. To ushered and obligated to adopt and mimic certain personalities that do not fit with their own values is certainly dishartening. For example, many inmmigrant immigrants youngsters supress their accents or try to imitate their peers in order to be socially included or accepted. To conclude, even though peer pressure puts a weight in people of young ages to act or be a certain ways, this encages and labels people in boxes, supressing their individuality. Moreover, it could also signify an backdoor to engage in hazardous activities. To be able to express and construct ones' personality is crucial, specially in developing stages. Advancing into eliminating peer preassure and fostering habits of reassurance could potentiate the construct of a better society.