Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued whether elderly population could pose an issue or a benefit to societies. This essay aims to prove that having ageing population far outhweighes outweigh outweighed its disadvantages. Firstly, elderly persons are widely important for their cultural knowledge. Such heritage is valuable for every generation, specially for young people, since it helps them understand where they come from and where they are directed. For example, grandparents in certain indigenous communities are considered 'sacred' for the cultural knowledge that they bear. They guide and counsel troubled younger generations, who often reach out for their advice. Even though some pople might disagree with this statement, based on the fact that elderly people do not provide economical value for the industry, since most of them can no longer work at regular jobs. However, it is not whorty worth to deem and condem such a large community of people for this sole reason, because the elderly can provide help with tasks they are familiarized with, in addition to instruct and teach people as well. To illustrate, most of the elderly women were taught how to do manual task such as knitting, cooking or gardening. Those are valuable skills that could be useful to everyone, since knowing how to cook or plant convey parts of daily life tasks. According to a recent study made by The Guardian, elderly women in the country of Colombia often lead and make workshops for 'modern' people who would like to learn how to bake, or overall, gain manual abilities. To conclude, even though aging populations could present a problem for governments, the value and insights provided by them are fundamental for conservating culture, as well as learn new facts and activities to implement in daily life. Underscoring in the relevance of our elders helps us construct better and more stable societies.