New technologies have changed the way children spend theri free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The way how children spend their leisure time has been changed by the gadgets. The writer argues that although technologies can help children develop their mental health, the drawbacks of causing sedentary lifestyle as well as impacting social interaction ability outweigh the advantage. Children having a sedentary lifestyle is one of the disadvantages of spending free time on the gadgets. In other words, since many new technologies being invented, many children have been glued to those gadgets as there are plenty of entertainment for them to use, they spend a great deal of time indulging in the imaginary world. Consequently, this leads to a reduction of exercises, causing many health issues or even obesity. An impact on social contact ability is another downside od spending time on technologies. To be specific, when children use most of their time playing games or using Internet for a long period, the rate of shyness will increase and there will be no room for communicating. As a consequence, those children are not only be more likely to be depressed but also not bonding well with others. By contrast, technologies may offer young people a development of creativity. Simply put, not every single games that are invented for only entertaining with meaningless plot, there are some games help chidren enhance their imagination such as Minecraft whre players can live their own ingame world and construct building. However, there will be a risk of addiction for children because they have not developed both mentally and physically, balancing the online times with real-life times is very difficult for them without parental control. In conclusion, while spending most of the free time online might develop children's creativity, the demerits of social interaction impact together with the risk of having a sedentary lifestyle outweigh the merit.