The best for the government to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport per day, 7 day a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

People believe that the most convenient solution to prevent traffic jams is to provide public transportation for free so that every person can easily use it every single day. I strongly disagree with this idea as I think that this is not the best solution for this issue. To begin with, public transport is introduced as an easy and convenient way for those who may either not afford to buy a car or for the ones that need a quick and approachable way to get into their workplace. This kind of transportation can be the quickest way for arriving to your destination. Furthermore, public transportation requires less amount of money compared to having personal cars. These types of vehicles, however, may be an effective way when thinking of reducing air pollution and traffic and one of the best ways to encourage each society to burn less fossil fuel to drive their private cars. For these reasons, several individuals hold the belief that if the government makes them free, it will solve most of the environmental and economic problems. On the other hand, from my own perspective, not charging people for using public transportation will not be a sufficient solution for these enormous issues by itself, because problems such as heavy traffic depend on some other factors like obeying the rules by some people and even the poor quality streets and driveways that lead every vehicle to use some specific pathways for arriving to their destination. Having the chance to use public transportation without any charge, however, may lead to a great opportunity for students or co-workers to get to their places faster. While using these vehicles would have an impact on the amount of traffic it would not be the most efficient one, since there would be a lack of these machines as well as leading to crowded bus stops or underground places. To sum up, I disagree with the idea of making public transport free, since other major issues including the lack of these vehicles and crowded places may come along if this idea comes to action. I think that each government should come up with other solutions for heavy traffic.