The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices is harmful to individuals and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

In this digitalized era many people and children tend to use modern gadgets for entertainment purposes. It is widely believed that usage of these devices for video games, accessing social media, and watching movies have detrimental impacts than metis to humans and to the society. I completely agree with this statement as there are health issues, limited social interactions as a result of over usage screens even though there are some advantages such as cheap and easily accessible entertainment for everyone. This essay will discuss the merits and issues of modern devices and provide my own opinion. On one hand, more and more individuals started using portable electronic devices for video games, accessing social media, watching movies etc. This would lead to screen addiction and sedentary behaviour. As such people tend to have limited social interaction with the outside world. Long-term impacts of this addiction would lead to isolation and depression. For example, as per the World Health Organization data, people with communication issues and depression has increased by over 20% during the last decade. This habit also impacts the health conditions such as non-communicable diseases and attention deficiency disorder. On the other hand, the cost which was incurred on entertainment has reduced significantly over the past few decades. Anyone with a handheld device and internet connection would be able to play a sophisticated video game from any corner in the world. Latest applications such as Netflix would allow anyone to watch the latest movies or dramas any with tab or a smartphone. Overall, in my opinion, disadvantages of using a gadget for entertainment for an extended period of time outweigh the merits of it. It would be advisable for everyone to limit the time spent in from of a screen to a healthy level while enjoying the cheap and easily accessible entertainment.