In some societies the number of crime committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age teenagers who commit major crime should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary societies, the escalating rate of crimes committed by teenagers has sparked a debate on whether adolescents involved in major offenses should face adult punishments. This contentious issue demands a nuanced consideration, and while I acknowledge the severity of certain crimes, I contend that a one-size-fits-all approach is inappropriate. First of all, it would be not be fair for teenagers that break important laws to serve the same punishment as adults. Many youths do not have the same experience as adults and they lack a full understanding of the laws and the judicial process. As a result, it would amount to injustice when these ones receive adults' punishments. For example, it would not be right for a 14 year old involved in physical assault that endangers the life of his peers to serve the same punishment an adult who commit similar crime receives. Thus, underage lawbreakers should not have the same punishments as adults. Furthermore, teenagers who are punished as grownups may be negatively affected. Often, adults who break major laws are confined to prison, an act which will have deleterious consequences for young ones, owing to the fact that they could be exposed to other criminal acts by hardened criminal when they are in prison. For instance, underage lawbreakers in the United States of America are kept in juvenile correctional facilities to deter them from the undesired influences from adult criminals. Therefore, when youngsters are punished like adults, they could be negatively affected by other criminals In conclusion, while recognizing the gravity of crimes committed by teenagers, I contend that subjecting them to adult punishments is overly punitive and neglects the developmental nuances of adolescence. A more balanced and empathetic approach involves investing in rehabilitation, addressing the underlying causes of delinquency, and fostering positive transformation for the benefit of both the individual and society at large.