Everybody should be allowed admission to university or college programs7 regardless of their level of academic ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, getting into a good university requires more marks than skills.There is a debate that all the students must be taken into universities without considering their academic performance. In my opinion, I partly disagree with this statement because some courses do need to consider the marks obtained by the students to choose the required program. To begin with, some of the negatives of not considering academic abilities are that some courses require higher marks and academic interest of a person. For example choosing courses like medicine requires full dedication and depends on how much a student can study. This is because in medicine the student has to complete around 19 subjects which might be difficult for a mediocre student to complete as a consequence that student might drop out in the middle so it is necessary to consider their academic ability before giving admission in this type of program. On the other hand, some programs do not require academic performance. For instance, fashion designing and art related courses do not have to consider the marks or the academic status of the students because these courses do not need much studying. It only requires the skills and personal interest of the person. In contrast, if academic performance is being considered for such programs a lot of talented students might not get a chance to pursue their dream program. In conclusion, considering the academic ability of a student is important for programs such as medicine so it could avoid dropouts in later periods whereas it is not essential to consider academic performance for certain courses like arts and designing as it may neglect the talented ones.