The world has many towns and cities constructed in previous centuries that were more suitable and livable for people in those times than they are now. What problems will this cause? What can be done to solve these problems?

Few 100 years ago, the numerous cities and urban areas were developed with the global-wide for the convenience of residents staying at there. However, those landscape features are more harmonious with people living in past rather than current residents. There are few problems related with old cities and their urban layouts such as limitation of space with modern needs and inadequate infrastructures. Firstly, the old cities were erected upon the clear layout without consideration of modern transportation and future amenities. Additionally, their locations were planned to occupy the space of total land area as much as possible. However, these old urban plans brought some problems in modern society such as the insufficient housings with increased population, insufficient space for new transportation system and demand of new amenities. Due to growth of population in each year, housing development played the vital role in recent years to fulfil the needs of people. Therefore, the demolishing of old structures was required in order to replace the new high-rise buildings with higher capacity for great number of residents. Moreover, the existing infrastructures also required to modify according to modern urban design such as conversion of wide road to regulated carriageway with cycling paths, pedestrians, universal features like overhead bridge and massive transport system, etc. In terms of financial inputs for redevelopment city, the budget for restoring the land from old cities were accounted about 30% of new constructing the cities in UK. This figure highlighted that the additional costs for resources deploying in modifying old cities have impact to country’s economic as a way of negative as well. Nevertheless, the government can earn some funds by allowing to assess the existing heritage buildings as historical buildings and attract the tourists for return income. The transformation these ancient cities as a memorable image and generate funds for city development. Furthermore, these funds can be used in construction of modern infrastructure. The transaction of living style from landed houses to condominium and shared amenities in same place can be the possible ways to avoid the increasing number of homeless people around worlds effectively by offering the affordable price for people effectively. To conclude that, ancient builders constructed the cities with the features they required in that time and they were not aligned with the modern people ’s needs because of skyrocketed population and special requests of people like shopping mall, swimming pools, hospitals, schools and cinemas for recreation purposes. As far as government invest in infrastructure development with smarter design including future requirements, the current problems of residents shall be solved in smoothly.