Whether Families today are closer than they used to be

Family over everything they say; but how many of us truly comprehend the meaning of family ties? Personally I don't agree that families today are closer than they used to be for alot of reasons. Firstly; growing up as kids in a one bedroom apartment in a Nigerian christian home, me and my two siblings will wake up in the morning to Mummy leading morning prayers. After that comes series of regular morning routines which we all did together with pleasure, playing and enjoying every minute of our childhood. We will eat together from the same tray after our morning baths, sometimes eating directly from the hot pot. we will share a piece of fish three ways or whatever proteins remaning in the food from the previous day cooking; we will prepare for school afterwards and still walk about 3 kilometers to our community nursery and primary school. we were practically inseparable. Too young to understand family ties but naturally we were united in a very strong family bond; probably because we were always in the same space and being cared for by the same parents. However; as we grew up, we did less things together. Our parents sent us off to different boarding schools which meant that we saw each other less and spoke occassionally. We grew older and went off to different cities for colleges and higher education institutions. The distance grew between us and the bond diminished significantly; three inseparable musketeers with no secrets a few years ago, now have secrets and unshared experiences. It is only natural that the bond won't be as strong as it was when we were kids in our parents little home, I guess we can blame that on adulthood. In addition to that, families are bigger these days, ranging from extended to polygamous families and even family by law; examples: in-laws and adopted siblings. This has a great effect on how close the members will be when they grow. The up bringing and backgroud of children as well as the size of the family affects their bond in the near future. In conclusion, the high increase of divorce globally signifies that there is an increase in the number of broken homes and family separation. This supports the argument that families are not as close as they used to be. Family is beyond just blood relationship and I think that closeness or bond with a person takes consistent and conscious efforts to sustain, which most people are too distracted with less important day to day responsibilities of adulthood to remember the need to regularly check up on their loved ones. I am guilty of this negligence too, which is why I won't claim self righteousness on the issue. However I recommend we all need to make more conscious efforts to rekindle the closeness and bond we ones shared with our family.