Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

Over half of this century tourism had a great impact on variety of fields, starting with the economy and ending with culture. However mainly it influenced native inhabitants of tourist-popular locations, and it has both pros and cons, which I’m going to discus in this essay. When it comes to advantages of tourism almost everyone will say that it brings a boost to the country’s economy, and this is true because visitors from other parts of the world bring their money which they’ll spend on leisure. Usually the amount of money spent depends on country itself, but also it depends on type of entertainment people want to experience on their vocation. On top of that somebody should provide all this activities which indicates another advantage of tourism and this is increased jobs for locals which means that they have more money to spend. This even more reinforces first advantage about boost to economy. But in spite of all that there are some major drawbacks, such as environmental damage. What I mean is that tourists usually don’t bother to litter in country they visit, which can bring huge problems for the nature. For example some animals may miss up plastic bags with something adible and die due to this. Another disadvantage is that large number of tourists may damage historical monuments. That’s an issue because our descendants may never see historical monuments in their original state because they will be damaged or destroyed. Overall, I want to say that tourism has its positive and negative sides in todays word, but for me advantages overweight disadvantages, because lots of issues can be fixed and disadvantages have a great positive impact on our society.