What are the advantages and disadvantages for children of watching television?

In these days, watching television is one of the most famous leisure activities among children. However, a large number of people worry about whether TV has good effects on children or if it is dangerous to them. In this essay, I will look at plus and minus sides and try to clarify both sides. To the beginning, one of the main disadvantages of watching televisions could cause some great problems and harm children. This means that watching TV is not always beneficial. One of the biggest problem is that it can lead to health issue such as eyesight, obesity and sleep problems. Spending full day sitting in front of the big bright screens is the key factor contributing to bad health. In addition to this, another issue to consider is that inappropriate content like violence and advertisements not suitable for children `s age. Without any doubt, it seems that watching TV sometimes has a serious effects on kids which means their thinking and world view could be distorted. On the other hand, watching television can improve offspring`s linguistic ability via TV shows. New words from their favourite programs can help them broaden their vocabulary and improve their pronunciation. Furthermore, video could help foster children to learn through educational programs. Moreover, since kids shows are normally designed with lively pictures in a fun way it could be an effective way to engage children to both learn and play at the same time. In conclusion, in other words, TV has both positive and negative side for everyone not only kids. To solve the problem, parents always should control their children.