At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The average life expectancy rate has come down drastically in many countries. It is 70 in Asia and 79 in countries like the USA and Europe. So there are few older people in the world. The young population is comparatively higher. Some are of the opinion that a country can progress with this disproportionate rate of population while others argue that we need older people in equal numbers. I think that having a larger ratio of young people will definitely be advantageous. Young people are doers. They are capable of accomplishing a given task and their productivity levels are unmatched. They are also at less risk of developing health complications. So a nation composed of healthy, actively contributing young people is sure to progress in all spheres. Young people are quick to learn and easily adapt to changing environments. They are also the resource base with which a country can attract business opportunities that are pivotal for economic growth and development. They think out of the box and don’t cling to old ideas. If properly educated and utilised, they are an asset to the nation. As every coin has two sides, this population variation has downsides too. Young people tend to act fast. Older people think twice before they attempt to do something. Out of experience, they are wiser. Young people are prone to misuse. If not properly managed, they can ruin a nation’s progress. Having a larger proportion of young people means that more people are in the working age bracket. So the country will be pressured to create adequate job opportunities failing which their youth may tread in unwanted paths and cause harm. In summary, having a larger proportion of youth is undoubtedly a boon. Given proper direction, they can create wonders. It is upto the country to utilise their youth to the maximum potential in order to reap benefits