It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed to be essential for people to venture outside the boundaries at workplace as well as in their daily life. This essay will argue that despite the fact that maintaining the status quo could bring the feeling of comfort, it is far more advantageous for human beings to go out and take risks because it is a necessary step to any success. Staying in the comfort zone may prevent individuals from certain unwanted threats. This is because all that they need to do is to carry on what they have been already familar with or proficient at without being afraid of any unexpected consequences or risks. As a result, there is no urge in altering those behaviours or routines as long as they are still fine for them. For instance, one prefers to stick to a group of his bosom friends in a school gathering than to engage a stranger in a conversation, or a Math teacher is content with repeating the same lessons year after year for every classes he teaches. However, I believe that as life is changing rapidly, such mindset only slows us down and gets in the way of greater success. There is an old saying that "nothing ventured, nothing gained" which means risk takers view challenges as learning opportunies rather than a peril to stay away. This is to say that only by stepping out of the playground of mediocity that they are able to try out new things and push the boudaries of possiblities. In fact, no historical figure has ever made a difference by playing it safe and being mediocre but they chose to take calculated risks. Take the founder of Ford as an example, he would have never invented the automobile if he had listened to the naysayers and refused to improve the engine from time to time until it became the renowned Ford cars we see today. Therefore, I am of the opinion that without trying new things, no greatness is accomplished. In conclusion, although staying the same can bring a sense of safe and comfort, people should consider taking risks is a requisite for success. For all the reasons above, the benefits of having an adventurous mind outweigh its drawbacks.