Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case ? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Mobile phones are becoming more popular among younger age and some of them spend more screen time than others on a daily basis. The root causes of this situation are the easy access to gadgets and lack of parental control. Therefore, I believe it can be seen as a negative trend because it leads to bad social development along with academic performance. The advances in technology nowadays contributed to create smartphones being more affordable to everyone. Entry-level phones were created to target early adopters involving young kids with minimum specification yet still useful for basic daily use. Combining with a reasonable price means no one can avoid it. It has become worse because the parents lack of controlling their children's use the gadgets. Due to their busy work activities, it leaves their children to use their mobile phones more than they used to. When their parents realized, that their children were already dependent on it. Because of this, the young generation now becomes attached to smartphones especially to access social media. The vast majority of users of Instagram and TikTok are dominating from this age makes them enjoy online interaction rather than actual socialization which is bad for developing their real social skills. Spending too much of their time surfing online activities, led to a huge distraction in the academic aspect. They lose their focus in class or even score low marks on exams because too much watching YouTube or playing mobile games until midnight. In conclusion, low-tier smartphone products with a decent prices and absence of parental control are the primary reasons for this condition. I, therefore, am convinced that it is a bad development because contributes to creating low social skills in children and underperformance in the school.