Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

With the advancement in medical technology, the average life expectancy is increasing worldwide. However, people in some areas still have premature death because of the unaffordable price of healthcare. There is also a debate on whether the pharmaceutical companies should lower the drugs' prices in the undeveloped countries. In my opinion, I believe that the companies should reduce the cost of their products in some countries. This essay will cover arguments that support my view. Firstly, the companies also gain a profit from more access to the medicine, as in more income. For instance, the poor countries normally have a large number of population due to less alternatives in reproduction control methods, the lower price can resulted in millions of customer in return, which possibly make a large sum of millions dollars. Hence, they could still produce the same amount of profit with altered price in some areas. Moreover, another benefit is more data on the medicine effectiveness, which they can further research and develop the formula. As poor countries located in Asia and Africa, the efficacy and potency of drugs can be different between races. Therefore, with more access to the medicine, there will be a large amount of useful information that can be gathered to develop better products. In conclusion, the pharmacy companies still have other form of benefits from lowering the prices, such as more customers and income, and an opportunity to acquire the information that can be used to create a better product, which I personally think that it is worth comparable to the profit they have lost for.