Some people argue that the government should invest more in scientific research to solve problems such as climate change and disease prevention. Others believe that funding should be allocated to more immediate concerns such as healthcare and education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an argument whether the public research fund should solely invested on scientific studies related to some specific issues, such as global warming, or diversify into other fields. I personally believe that the government should equally fund all of potentially useful researches. This essay will cover the supporting reasons on both views. To begin with the equally funding side, as the government responsible for every problems emerged in the society, they should give financial support to all topics that is involved in public interest. For example, Thailand is facing the downward trend in students' competency score compare to other countries in southeast asia. they should have invest more money into improve the quality of teaching nationwide, rather than put the effort only into the new discoveries in STEM-related subjects. Therefore, the public sector fund should be granted on various research topics. On the other hand, in order to solving some specific problems like climate change, it is required a large sum of money to find solutions, as of more sustanable technologies, or more environmental-friendly chemical substances for repalcement of plastics. For instance, there is a new discovery of a type of worm that can devour plastic, so it need money to further study the characteristics of this worm completely. However, the test could take a few years to be done, so it can be funded on a long term plan with smaller amount in each year. The remaining money can go to other important subjects. In conclusion, the public financial subsidisary should dispersely spent on all current public concerns, as every problems in the society has an impact in people's quality of life. Thus, it should not focus on some particular concerns, while the other issues are left behind.