People living in the 21st century have better quality of life than the previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a growing debate about whether people living in the 21st century have higher standards of living compared to those in the previous centuries. While it is undeniable that the advancements in technology and healthcare have improved our quality of life, there are still certain aspects of the past centuries which made them a better place to live. On the one hand, developments in fields such as technology and healthcare have contributed to an increase in living standards, making our lives easier and prolonging our life expectancy. While technological advances have allowed a human to delegate many labor-intensive tasks to machinery and robots and then enjoy greater amount of leisure time, improvements in the healthcare sector have made possible the detection and early treatment of many serious ailments. Consider the case of polio, a formerly incurable disease which claimed lives of millions of people during the 20th century. Fortunately, thanks to the creation of effective vaccines, it has been totally eradicated by the 21st century, putting an end to its death row. On the other hand, there are certain factors which suggest that previous centuries may have had a better quality of life. In the past, for example, people would live in close-knit communities, allowing them to experience a sense of belonging. Therefore, they might have suffered less from isolation and loneliness, which have become commonplace nowadays. Those times, individuals could only rely on face-to-face communication, and thus they had more reasons to socialize. In fact, lack of socialization is proven to be the leading cause of various mental disorders, including depression. In conclusion, I am convinced that every period of human history has had something to offer, and we cannot generalize as to say that one century provided humans with a better quality of life than others. Although the 21st century has seen advancements in technology and healthcare, it also has observed a weaking weakling of bonds between the members of the same community.