The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of modern lifestyle. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, with a fast-paced life, microwave food tends to become more popular, even though it has other disadvantages. I think, in most cases, prepared food has multiple benefits for people and, in this essay, I will discuss both views and offer my opinion with examples in the following paragraphs. There are two crucial merits of ready-made meals, not only time-saving but also have various options. That is to say, for those who are so hectic that they do not have sufficient time for rest, let alone prepare meals, it is a major benefit, such as working parents or students. Additionally, convenience food is available in diverse flavours and alternatives, so people can easily choose what they want rather than struggle to find restaurants. Take convenience stores as an example, there are different kinds of convenience food from Western to Eastern styles, people can enjoy the whole world's food in a store without going abroad. However, it also has two major disadvantages lack of nutrients and higher prices than fresh food. In general, this kind of food consists of high salt and sugar but low fibre and vitamins, leading to obesity problems and further affecting overall wellness. Additionally, frozen food is often associated with more processing and manufacturing, which can result in higher prices. As a result, people with lower incomes may choose to consume it less frequently. Although it has some drawbacks, it is still an appealing choice for most people in modern lifestyles. In conclusion, just as a life-saving medicine may be another life-threatening poison, there is no possibility that convenience foods will suit everyone. Considering everything, I still think it can be a way to save individuals' busy and tired lives not only is it a time-saver, but it is also easy to purchase. The overall pros outweigh the cons.