Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

There is an increasing trend that foreign films outperform domestic films to draw in large volume of audience. Globalization and international collaboration can contribute to this phenomenon, and I agree that governments should give more financial support to local film industries. The reason can be stated from an economic perspective. Along with globalization, domestic movie makers prefer to collaborate with foreign companies to import foreign films at lower cost than producing films domestically. For example, some Chinese movie makers seek long term strategical collaboration and import films from Disney and Paramount companies. Such advanced movie makers with high reputation globally would guarantee movie quality and save domestic movie manufacturing costs at meanwhile. Therefore, audiences who are bombarded with the advertisement of these international movies will be intrigued to watch these movies. In turn, out of curiosity to a strange culture, publics would prefer to spend less money and time getting to know other culture and appreciating unknown arts rather than travelling to that country. I hold the view that government should be responsible for supporting domestic films financially. Firstly, private companies in the entertainment industry are mostly profit-driven. This trend will increasingly exacerbate the culture erosion by importing more foreign films at lower cost but higher quality. Still, local domestic films need spend considerable money in research and development to polish the movie making technology to get competitive power in the global setting. Therefore, such potential sunk cost is only affordable by the government, a Non-for-profit entity that is more responsible for protecting domestic culture compared to other entities. In conclusion, globalization and profit-driven in the international collaboration is the root cause to make foreign films more attractive to either private companies or publics. To protect domestic culture and promote domestic film, more financial support from the government is necessary and crucial.