Some people think that work is the most important thing in people's lives. Without the success of a career, life will become meaningless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Almost everyone has a career or a job that they do from time to time. It is argued that having a career is the most important aspect of one's living. To a greater extent I do agree with this narrative and this essay will explore my view. On a larger hand, waking up everyday with tasks to do defines a meaningful or rather a purposeful life. A career keeps one's mind occupied and that in return keeps one free from diseases such a depression and high blood pressure which is heavily caused by thinking too much. Meaningfulness is also seen when one is able to pay their bills and this can be achieved if one has a successful career that brings in income. On the lesser hand, a career is argued to be significant but definitely not the most important in defining the meaningfulness of life. A functional family amongst other factors is equally important. A successful career indeed may distract one's mind but it sure can not bring a meaningful life as that which is offered by being responsible for others like your family. Having your own children or catering for your spouses creates purpose and the zeal to continue living. To conclude, a meaningful life is determined by a successful career to a greater extent because of its ability to cover most of the necessities of life whereas to a lesser extent a functional family is equally as important.