Goverments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or dissagree with this statement?

Spending more money on railways has been a controversial issue that people like debating about. I will explore which is the more appropriate role of government in this essay. First of all, advocates that the governments should spend budget on making railways contend that making infrastructure is really the government's role. They believe that governments should spend their money on the majority of their people, not the minority. For example, the metropolitan cities need more facilities for commuting, so, government should require compulsory spending. Which means, that it can be explained as more economical spending. However, opponents contend that the government's tax is not only for metropolitan citizens but also for other people who are relatively isolated. They believe that our taxes should be spent more decently and appropriately. And then, equal development of countries brings citizens together regardless of region isolation. They believe that the government should spend more in smaller villages to live more effectively. In conclusion, from my perspective, the government should spend more of its budget to establish housing for the minority of people living in the countryside. That would be more helpful for people in the future.