Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It’s true that animal experimentation has been overwhelmingly used to promote human medical and technology development. While I accept it is unfair treatment to experimenting animals, I would support a limited amount of experimentation instead of sheer volume abuse. Some people hold the view, in which I am in favor, human would be better off trial medical experimentation in animals. A common example is that for those patients who have suffered from cancer, innovative medicine with necessary help from animal experimentation in the pilot phase can potentially save their lives. I do agree that limited amount of experimentation in large volume species rather than rare animals, could be acceptable considering a trade off in the biological cycle. Experimentation can be considered a tactic to balance the volume of other animals, otherwise, those animals, such as mice, might increase to flooding numbers out of control. On the other hand, I also understand that critics contend animal experimentation be banned from the perspective of altruism and equality. For example, the first clone experiment has been done on the sheep at the expense of sacrificing the sheep’s life if the experimentation failed. Such similar experimentation would awake human’s empathy to creatures on the earth, rendering them to protest against unethical animal experimentation. However, I do think animal experimentation is highly important to promoting medical treatment because no one can suffer from losing their lovers in bad ill. So I believe those contenders would switch standpoint if tragedy occurs in their loved ones. In conclusion, animal experimentation can be considered unethical from a saint perspective, but I would say limited amount of experimentation is crucial to promote medical development sustainably.