Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The importance of community service has been increased through time owing to a group of vulnerable populations that requires support, nowadays many nonprofit organizations have been founded. For this reason, the system of education has shown how relevant learning community services since adolescence are in schools. However, community service as a mandatory labor during high- schools could represent some drawbacks and benefits. First of all, it is well-known that everybody should support those that are in vulnerable situations or conditions, as a means of being empathetic and it should be done from the heart. However, until now many people have lived in privileged conditions and are unable to realize many other realities. As a consequence, many schools pretend to show the real conditions of those in risk and how to support the in-danger population by having community service as a mandatory requirement of graduation. Then, the principal aim of doing these activities has been to emphasize in empathetic and basic values. Nevertheless, having it as a compulsory condition could represent a simple task to complete in high-school adolescents. As a result of this, the main objective is not achieved, then adverse or unfavourable conditions that schools want to be taught of the importance of assisting each other are not learned by students. For example, some pupils could not complete the tasks or in some cases his attitudes and behaviors by performing these are impolite. To summarize, community service has been widely recognized, nowadays having many nonprofit corporations. Consequently, the importance of supporting each other has been taught since childhood, so far in many schools it is a mandatory practice which I agree with. However, it is appropriate to explain and emphasize the leading targets that have to complete this labor.