Look at the below picture and describe the life cycle of a butterfly. You should write the following: - Briefly about the butterfly (insect family) - Describe the different stages (eggs, caterpillar, pupa and butterfly)

Butterfly is a one of the forms of insect. Butterflies are colourful and they are very important for the ecological system. Like every living thing, Butterflies also have a life cycle. There are 4 stages in the life cycle of a butterfly namely eggs, Larva, Pupa and Butterfly. Firstly, Butterflies use a specific plant to lay their eggs and they lay many eggs at a time which can be different in shape and size depending on the species. The eggs are usually hatched in less than a week. After the eggs have been hatched, tiny caterpillars start coming out and they feed on leaves, flowers and fruits. As they eat, their bodies grow and their shapes change. The third stage is the Pupa. At this stage, the Caterpillar develops its wings, legs, eyes and other organs. The final stage is adult stage, the butterfly is fully developed and they begin to look for food, look for mate and begin the life cycle again. The average life span is 2 weeks but may vary depending on the species. Each stage looks different but they serve an important purpose in the life cycle of a Butterfly. Butterfly pollinate plants in our gardens. Hence, they play a major role in our ecosystem and we need to protect them.