In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasis that their products are new in some way Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Although there are always basic standards to measure how good a product is, businesses nowadays heavily stress the more innovative aspects of their products. While this phenomenon can be explained by a fear of competition from similar products, I strongly believe that this poses serious threats for our society. By focusing on advertising new aspects of products, the companies hope to limit the number of benchmarks of other products of the same type. Without anything to compare to, customers have low awareness about the actual values that the novel aspects bring, therefore they may willing to pay even if the characteristics are not worth the prices. For example, a new coffee house in my neighborhood ran ads on our local radios and newspapers for their very expesive, exclusive drink and all of the information in these ads is about the pink color of the beverage. Because the community had never tasted such drink before, they had no idea whether it would worth the high pricetag. Emphasizing too much on these novel characteristic result in the neglect of the basic of a product. Because everything need to have something new, research and development department of a company will use all of their resources for add-ons and innovations, instead of improving much needed other standards, such as quality, reliability or affordability. Selling highly innovative gadgets that break down easily can bring in new customer in the short term, but losing them in the long run. To conclude, companies are obsessing with generating and advertising new aspects of their product, while neglecting other more needed, basic standard. In my opinion, this trend will cause more harm than good in the future.