There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Because the youth is often stressed in today very competitive school, many argue that objects which are deemed non-academic such as cookery or physical education should be excluded from study programs. However, I strongly disagree with this opinion, and believe that children should always take these courses as they will improve the kid's health to support other more academic subjects, and that a lot of students actually enjoy non-academic subjects Firstly, taking part in physical education or cooking class improves children health to focus in school. Many studies have shown that exercies exercises, especially those with high intensity that happened outside, are extremely important for the healthy development of the nervous system. Furthermore, knowledge about what foods that should or should not be eaten are often taught in cooking classes, which will certainly support the pupil's health. As a result, without these extra-curriculum classes, students are more prone to sickness and thus the grades in mathematics, literature or physics will be negatively affected. Secondly, not all of the children want or should go to universities for degrees as this is not what they desire. A student may want to take a football class more than a mathematic course because he dreams of become a football player. In this case, forcing the children to drop non-academic activity so that they may have a better chance to get into universities will reduce their motivation in study. Besides, numerous research have shown that students achieve best result when they are in the state of flow, in other words, when they are doing what they like best. By letting the children try their best in these non-academic courses, they actually have higher chance of being success in life. In conclusion, although most parents would like their children to be success academically, removing non-academic courses out of the curriculum is a grave mistake. I firmly believe that we should let children do these activities at school, because the kids will be both healthier and more successful.