Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

The number of individuals in many species is critically low, while other species are disapearing so fast that they are on their way to extinction. The reason is that wild animals are being overly hunted for food and their other products. This calls for government's enforcement of policy to prohibit such activities. Many animals are captured for their meat or their other products, such as ivories, fur or hair. Due to the recent increase in economic development in Eastern countries such as China or Vietnam and as people in these countries believe that eating exotic animal meat or using products made from animal's ivories, hair or fur will bring great fortunes, the demand for these animals skyrockets. This need causes poachers to increase their hunting activities, and a lot of elephants, tigers or rhinoceros has been killed. In brief, these poor animals have been hunted cruelly because of human selfish, insatiable desires. Therefore, one of the most effective solutions are prohibitive actions from the government regarding poaching. There must be an increase in number of rangers, enforcers and laws to restrict poachers from killing wild animals. There are studies shown that in Vietnamese provinces where the law enforcers actively captured and punished poachers hunting elephants, the number of wild elephant increased more than 50 percent that that in provinces where no actions are made from the policymakers to reduce hunting. It is crystal clear that actions from the government are necessary to prevent the culling of wild animals. In summary, many animals are on the brink of extinction due to being hunted which call into action the enforcement of goverments government. Only when number of hunting activities significantly drop, wildlife can flourish again.