Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A school of thought holds that the authorities should invest more money in space research into another habitable planet. However, I am firmly convinced that that amount of money should be used to deal with current issues on earth. In this following essay, I will discuss both sides as well as outline my own opinion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that looking for another livable planet is essential. One of the main reasons for this being the earth is running out of necessary resources due to the overexploitation of humans, namely petroleum and minerals. Lacking those kinds of resources, obviously, will hinder the existence of people. Thus, humans are having the urge to search for alternative energy from space, or even another place to live. Nevertheless, this approach appears to be rather costly and uncertain. On the other hand, advocates for the latter assert that governments should cope with the ongoing concerns on earth first. In fact, there has been a wide range of problems posing a serious threat to people's well-being. For instance, in some developing countries, poverty has increased the nation’s crime rates and detrimentally affected its growth. Therefore, there is an urgent need for resolving those immediate matters before investing too much in space studies in order to ensure the long-term stability of society. To recapitulate, while looking for another planet can be a great measure, it takes an enormous amount of money and I doubt its viability. It is vital for the government to take everything into account and strike the balance between those two concerns to ensure the nation’s development.