Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen or pencil. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Indeed, the technological advancements have brought umpteen changes to the human life. The ever- progressive society, prefer typing to physical writing, which resulted in less use of pen and pencil. This situation has its roots with the introduction of computers and now increasing day by day. I reckon that besides having numerous benefits the technology in writing is not a positive development. To Commence with, the speed and accuracy affered by the digital devices make it the go to choice of almost everyone. Especially, students can take advantages from the online resources for their studies. For example; Grammarly, is widely used app to correct and learn grammar along with providing quicker results. Besides that, easy editing of text make it convenient for the people to use the computers and smartphones to write because with fast results these gadgets saves time of the users. Moreover, the decline in personal letter writing using the paper and the rise of emails and instant messaging also contribute to reduce writing by hand. However, the negative consequences of this phenomenon cannot be overlooked. It reduced the aesthetic sense which lies in handwriting. There has been a potential loss of the personal touch in communication. For example; the introduction of emoji's in chatting decreased the use of words which use to demonstrate the emotional feelings of people. Apart from that, writing manually helps in the development of mind, improves memory and builds muscle memory along with an improvement in motor skills. However, the diminshed paterns of calligraphy affect cognitive development as well. Moreover, the overuse of the technical advancements leads to potential data insecurity and privacy issues. To conclude, more reliance on the computers and smartphones for communication has made our Iives easy but bad results of these headways cannot be deniable. Thus, a balanced approach towards using both means will be a right choice of the time.