Most employers nowadays put increasing emphasis on social skills. Some people believe that social skills are important in addition to good qualification for job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days the majority of employers require good social skills. While these social skills could improve employee management and bring effective networking, these social skills could not determine exact qualifications and abilities. Firstly, social skills play a crucial role in the workplace. Because they could improve employee management, as social skills can effectively engage and motivate employees. Moreover, social skills like good communication could increase effective networking by creating a friendly and positive atmosphere between colleagues. For example, it is proven that if colleagues in companies get on well and share their ideas with each other, the organisation will be more successful. Thus, the importance of having social skills is required more nowadays. On the opposite, having only social skills does not mean that this employee is qualified. There are more skills that determine an efficient worker such as problem-solving skills, decision making and research skills. For example, not every profession needs good communicational skills such as doctors they need skills for the treatment of patients. Therefore, good qualification for job success is not determined by only social skills. In conclusion, while social skills could bring benefits like social networking and engaging management, it is not enough for job success.