Some people say that in all levels of educations, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that students from primary schools and universities spend more time on learning theoretical material rather than on studying practical skills. Personally, I believe that it is a valid point of view. In fact, it is supposed that educational establishments are aimed not at performing pragmatic tasks but at gaining knowledge among students. One more main reason is that at schools and universities, people frequently work who are not related to practical jobs in their sphere. First of all, teachers and professors are obliged to give students learning facts that they will apply in their future careers. Actually, listening to lectures and completing exercises on sheets of paper during the seminars do not provide students with any sense of practical skills. For example, it is an ordinary situation among Russian students, when after graduating they have to find a job without some experience in their profession. For this reason, during their working life at the company, they should get special skills based on knowledge that they obtained at the educational institutions. Secondly, in most cases, workers in the educational sphere have been teaching in schools and universities for many years. Moreover, most of them devote their whole life to science and learning facts. Consequently, those people can not give students enough knowledge for the pragmatic part of the study. For instance, there are a lot of aspirants in Russian universities who are hired to teach students. Thus, these people have just graduated and started teaching. Therefore, they do not have enough work experience to give that skills to students. Overall, I agree that in schools and universities studying theory is spent more time than on application of facts in practice. It is related to the established principles of teaching the material and the lack of specialists in teaching positions who can share their experience with students.