Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

People have experienced dramatic changes in their sleep behavior. This essay will suggest that high competition in today’s era is a reason for this trend and in most cases, it is detrimental to an individual’s health. One of the main causes of less sleep is race in the global market, due to the fact, that people started competing with each other they changed their way of living. Individuals endeavor to command more money and as a result sacrifice with their sleep. The second cause that might be noted is advancements in technology. Instead of sleeping people are distracted by their devices, such as computers, and phones that were not used before. For instance, Oxford University reported that phones are mostly used in the nighttime between 11:00-1:00 a.m. The effects of sleep deprivation are extremely detrimental to people. The human body needs at least 7 to 10 hours of sleep and if it is lacking, people may encounter problems with mental health. Because of the competition individuals spend days and nights working on their job, which is likely to lead to the stress or even worse to depression. Furthermore, lack of sleep affects the physical condition of human. The body would not absorb the healthy nutrition since the repairing system of a person will be damaged. The usage of technologies at nighttime causes a strain on the eyes. For example, a recent study revealed that every fifth person in the world wears glasses, whereas before mostly elderly people used them. To sum up, deprivation of sleep is a huge problem, caused by developments in society. If the right solution is not implemented, in the near future the majority of people will suffer from health issues..