It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science at university. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

Opting a subject has become an imperative question in this present world and it is analyzed that pupils who enter in college or university are not preferring to study science. I discuss the causes and effects in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, although today's generation is more active than previous ones, yet it does not want to have burden on them due to tough curriculum on daily basis. For instance, a survey has been conducted that 65% of students chose arts and other subject but they refused to study science and mathematics in last year as they believe they are not only lessening stress from their life by choosing other subjects but also reducing the chances to get less marks in examination, as a result, these subjects are neglected by many students. In addition to this, the effects on society could be profound. First and foremost impact would be shortage of science of graduates which slow the pace of scientific research and innovation and this might lead to a decline in technological advancements. Secondly, there could be an imbalance in the work place with too few professionals in fields such as medicine, engineering, and environmental science. Also, this could lead to a lack of expertise necessary for addressing critical issues such as climate change, public health crises, and infrastructure development. In conclusion, students hesitate to face challenges and want less stress in their life in order to have happy lifestyle, therefore, societies would face given many obstacles due to pupil's decision.