Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closue of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that large supermarkets are expanding their stores in several countries around the globe. While some people believe that it is a negative development and this will detrimentally affect the local communities, others argue that it is beneficial for society. I completely agree with the later view as ample reasons are present to substantiate it. This essay would delve into my viewpoint with relevant illustrations. First and foremost, one of the obvious advantages of the large supermarket chains is less price for commodities compared to local business stores. In other words, since large supermarkets purchase goods from the manufacturing or cultivating places, they can sell products at the lowest price than traditional shops. For example, Walmart, the larget supermarket chain in the world, selling essential product such as milk and eggs at lowest price than anywhere in the local market. Besides, corporate supermarkets would generate more employment opportunities for local people especially for young generations. It is true that several students are employed these supermarkets to pay their educational fees. Furthermore, larger hypermarket may be boost local economy by purchasing and exporting local products. In detail, locally farming and manufacturing products would be purchased by these supermarkets and sell through their other facilities around the world, this will help to local people to reach their products in international level. To exemplify, the local apples in the Netherlands purchased and exported by the famous supermarket chain Carryfour. As a result, the farmers able to earn better than ever before. Similarly, the supermarkets presence would not only improve lifestyle of people but also increase realestate real-estate price. In conclusion, the larger superstore would generate more jobs and sell product at lower prices are the obvious advanatages. This development also help to reach local products to reach international market. Ergo, I believe incresing supermarket culture is beneficial for communities.