Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part if high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To waht extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that service learning and volunteering have to be a part of any high school programme. I totally agree with this statement, since, in my opinion, such practices have zero disadvantages and large amount of advantages. Someone can say there is no need in including community service in the school curriculum, as it’s not really helpful for students and can be replased by other much more beneficial lessons. However this is their only argument. I think those people just don’t know how many advantages this experience has and how useful it can be for society. In my mind, volunteering of students is beneficial not only for community they help,, but also for themselves. Such practices give learners many skills that can be useful in any stage of their lifes and may help them in solution of different problems. During these practices students not only make new friends, moreover, they also gain invaluable experience of working in team with people they don’t know. As a students of a school which has community service as a part of its learning programme, I can state that this experience helped me to improve my communication and collaboration skills and also opened my eyes on some large social and environmental problems, such as homelessness, unemployment and different tupes of natural pollution. To sum up, community service is not really necessary, but very useful practice with no drawbacks. It helps students in solving their life issues and communicating with people of different life and financial situations.