People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

People consume a high intake of prepared food more than they did before. This happens because of the easy availability of these kinds of foods and this might result in acute health problems. People tend to seek easily available food options as they are pressed for time due to the hectic pace of life. This is because they are expected to work more than ever before and they have to get more things done in various aspects of their lives. Obviously, while trying to catch up with everything, individuals feel a strong need to resort to convenience foods available at supermarkets where they can find a wide variety of processed meals, ranging from ultra-processed food, and pre-prepared meals to canned ones. Coming back home quite late, feeling extremely drained and exhausted people do not feel enthusiastic about cooking a home-made meal with healthy ingredients; instead, they end up eating a higher proportion of processed food. The primary effect of consuming too much processed food is the likelihood of severe health problems. That is to say, large sections of the population do not prepare healthy meals, and this, in turn, results in a higher percentage of them becoming obese and developing cardiovascular diseases. Since the consumption of this kind of food entails an excessive intake of saturated or trans fats, excess amount of sugar, and sodium, it increases the risk of a high cholesterol level in blood as well as fat accumulation in internal organs. The World Health Organization reports that those consuming ultra-processed meals are at twice as much risk of developing malicious forms of cancer, reducing their life expectancy dramatically. In conclusion, the excessive consumption of ready meals may happen due to the convenience brought by this food. However, there is a strong likelihood that it may have adverse effects on the health system, which as a result, may decrease the lifespan of individuals. It is predicted that in a few decades the world population will double the amount of consuming convenience foods and it is highly feasible that cancer will become a top fatal disease among sufferers.