Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years increasing number of the rural residents have decided to leave their living places and farms to join the people in big cities. This decision has brought a especial concern regarding a prompt decline in the population of the rural areas. From my personal point of view, this issue has more negative impacts than positive results, both for the villages and the cities. I would like to start off my discussion by writing about why the country people decide to migrate to the cities. First of all, there are less variety of jobs in villages and work-forces need to be really hard working and strong to be able to deal with agriculture and other related jobs. Secondly, for that amount of work-load the workers get paied less compared with the similar working hours in the cities. Therefore, more and more rural people get settled in the cities everyday. In addition, another significant factor is the better living facilities in most aspects of life in cities such as a better transportation system and definietly a more advanced educational system. On the other hand, this issue have some detrimental impacts on the both cities and urban areas. One of the most important disadvantages is that in the long-term there will be less work-forces in the rural areas so the economy of the villages and the farming industry will be damaged. For instance, the production of the fresh fruits, vegetables and other farming products will be reduced and as a result the prices of those will raise dramatically. Moreover, the population in the cities will increase significantly and this over population will in turn put more pressure on the resources due to the evergrowing demands. Accordingly, governments must take some measures to prevent this. To summarize, nowadays, an increasing number of rural residents migrate to the cities due to the lack of facilities in the villages and the better opportunities in the cities. But, this is damaging for the both cities and urban areas. So, to avoid this, governments ought to seek some solutions.