Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

It is believed that the government should allocate their spending for building new facilities in key urban centers rather than repairing old buildings. I will show my support for this idea in this essay. The opponents of this viewpoint often exaggerate the advantages that repairing and restoring old buildings offer. This is because demolition and dismantling of old buildings can create a lot of dust and constructive waste released into the environment, causing increasingly worsened environmental pollution in urban centers, especially the air pollution. However, this perspective fails to consider the huge cost of repair and restoration of old buildings which are not a one-time cost, as these activities require constant maintenance costs including structures, designs, and visuals. This is particularly true in the case of a lot of old apartments in Vietnam which need maintenance annually to ensure residents’ safety and these apartments’ visuals, leading to the waste of money but effective not high. In addition, the government’s investing in new facilities can offer long-term benefits, as new facilities require less maintenance cost and operating cost with longer life expectancy, offering long-term cost saving for the government and individuals. Moreover, investing in new buildings and new facilities can advance city infrastructure, because this allows for the integration of modern infrastructure including saving-energy systems, smart technologies, and sustainable design methods. This not only improves features and quality of facilities but also contributes to the development of a more resilient and advanced urban infrastructure system. A perfect example for this is Vinhome Ocean Park, a smart urban area in Vietnam, which is designed at modern building standards including energy-saving systems, environment-friendly technologies, creating a safe and sustainable habitat for residents as well as contributing to a modern and flexible urban infrastructure system. In conclusion, although repairing and restoring old buildings can benefit the environment, I purposefully advocate that the government should invest in constructing new facilities due to the long-term cost savings and the development of city infrastructure.