Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that recently, the number of individuals who prefer to use social networks to be in contact with people has been increasing day by day instead of seeing each other on live. While this situation has some positive effects, there are many drawbacks. First of all, it is well known the fact that social media is an inseparable part of our lives in these days. People who are in a wide range in terms of their ages use some applications such as Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter on both mobile phones and computers. Therefore, many choose to communicate with their social environment via Internet because of the technological opportunities of these apps. For example, I frequently prefer to chat on WhatsApp with my friends or share some pictures among us easily or I use Facetime call to see my parents who are living in another city. On the other hand, there is no doubt that we have experienced not being able to see our closest friends and relatives during the epidemic all over the world in recent years. Due to the fact that there were many restrictions in the countries, people did not go out of their homes in order to meet with somebody in an open-air place even as I did. That’s why, we heard on TV that psychologies of the people were getting worse due to unsocial lifestyles at home and together with only households. In conclusion, tough social networks have many crucial services to be in contact with people and provide access convenience to end users, it may result in an unsocial and internet-addicted lifestyle. Thus, online communication and meeting up with people face to face should be kept in balance.