Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

It is true that the popularity of online shopping is experiencing a significant surge. This essay will show its far-reaching negative and positive impacts on the environment and on various jobs related to e-commerce. The increase of online shopping brings both positive and negative impacts on the environment. This trend has helped minimise emissions and fuel consumption by decreasing the number of private vehicles traveling to traditional stores, thereby contributing to improving the air pollution. Nevertheless, remote purchasing also leads to a rise in packaging waste as this method often links with the process of product transportation, which requires careful packaging with multiple layers such as shock-absorbent wraps, cardboard boxes, to protect goods. This perspective is particularly true with the case of To Lich river, located in the heart of Viet Nam’s capital, where numerous plastic bags and cardboard boxes are thrown into the river, causing water pollution and creating an unsightly and foul-smelling environment that significantly impacts on resident’s health and urban skylines. The growth of e-shopping also affects human employment in both favorable and unfavorable manners. On the one hand, this trend creates many new opportunities for the labor market. It is because of maintaining an online store, various roles such as customer data administration, consulting staff and delivery drivers, opening up more employment opportunities for workers. On the other hand, as online purchasing becomes increasingly prevalent, traditional brick-and-mortar stores have to face the risk of bankruptcy. The reason for this is consumers tend to buy essential items such as food on online groceries thanks to its convenience, rather than going to nearby stores as before, leading to declines in the revenue of these stores, particularly those owned by older people who may struggle with cutting-edge. Grab is a perfect example for this phenomenon, especially since they offer grocery delivery online, consumers can simply use their mobile phone at home to order various goods including food, medicine, clothing and wait for the delivery drivers to arrive. This significantly reduces the number of customers visiting traditional stores and markets for shopping. In conclusion, online shopping impacts the environment and the labour market in both positive and negative ways.