You decide to write a piece for your school magazine on the voting age, arguing that it should be lowered.

Why the voting age should be lowered to 16 years old The level of turnout in the elections between the young population is not high. Therefore, politicians should consider the changes required in the current election system, so the number of voters is increased. The minimum age to vote currently is 18. Some studies have suggested that reducing the voting age to 16 could influence changing routine habits with respect to participation in balloting. 16-year-olds still live with their parents and thanks to the parents' influence the probability of using the right to vote could increase dramatically, Nevertheless, enabling teenagers to vote may contribute to the creation of new routines with respect to voting again in elections. On another note, this population should be able to make decisions about issues that would affect them soon. In addition, politicians should start including more questions that may affect teens in their campaigns. In conclusion, the minimum age for voting should be reduced to 16, as this way this part of the society would feel considered to make decisions that would affect their future. Although some people claim that they are still too young to commit, studies have shown that earlier participation in the elections could contribute to continue involvement in the forthcoming times, improving participation rates among the youngest.