There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.1.

In our contemporary society, the phenomenon of achieving success in academic life under the pressure has been a subject of debate with controversial approaches. Some people claim that subjects which do not have any positive impacts on individuals’ academic lives and knowledge should be taken off from the school systems, however, I am not at the same side with them. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will elucidate both aspects and try to give a reasonable conclusion from my viewpoint. First and foremost, proponents of the idea which is about to remove non-academic subjects from school syllabus allege that these subjects do not matter in pupils’ education, they see these kinds of classes as a waste of time. For instance, students who participate in these classes can be attracted by these kind of activities, as a result of it, students may ignore other subjects in order to show great performances and enhance their skills related to these fields. Moreover, if someone has innate skills and is the best among their peers, they can be directed to these sectors by the professionals, and in the long run they will not have any time for their education. Turing to the other side of the coin, it is an inevitable fact that importance of co-educational branches of study are various. To exemplify, students need breaks and refresh their minds between tiring classes to concentrate on each subject well, while some can do it easily during the breaks, for others engaging in physical activities can be more effective as it promotes some individuals with a sense of fulfilment, relaxation and being away from the stress. Additionally, naturally gifted students can gain experience and improve their skills by attending these kinds of branches. In conclusion, after being manifested both points, while some people are convinced that the subjects which are not related to academic studies should be eliminated from the list of subjects, I am absolutely against to this attitude. From my point of view, all subjects are important for students and it is ideal to strike a balance between both academic and physical courses of study.